Amaranth Dill Salad

DSC_0632

 

I am a lazy lout. All I eat are giant one bowl meals/everything salads. That’s what the end of the semester does to me! As of today, it is exactly four weeks until go back to my parent’s to spend my 1.5 month summer vacation… sigh. It’s been a stupid year and I’m excited for my final performances in three weeks, BUT, I made a cool salad.

From what I can tell, amaranth is a fairly uncommon grain to cook with. It’s quite high in protein as well as iron. I adore the super earthy taste, and how it gets kind of gel-like when it’s cooked (A similar consistency to cream of wheat). The earthy flavour of the amaranth was awesome with the fennel and dill. And of course I loaded it with kale, cilantro, green onions, and lemon juice. I also topped it with a handful of pumpkin seeds and a hemp seeds. It rocked. It was also amazing because it held up for nearly 6 hours out of the fridge! Therefore, I recommend making a big batch and saving some for left overs/the next day. OR it’d be a perfect dish to take on a picnic… because it’s apparently spring…

AMARANTH DILL SALAD: (serves two)

  • 2/3 cup dried amaranth
  • 1 2/3 cup water
  • 1 medium fennel bulb, shredded
  • 3 cups kale, or greenery of choice
  • 1/4 cup fresh dill
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

In a medium saucepan, with the lid on, bring the amaranth and the water to a boil. Reduce the heat to medium and let simmer for 20-25 minutes. Check it every 5-ish minutes after 15 minutes of cooking to ensure it doesn’t burn, and add more water (by the tablespoon), if necessary. Remove from heat, and let steam with the lid on for 10 minutes. Let cool.

In a large bowl, combine the shredded fennel, chopped greens, herbs, and green onion. Add the amaranth. Pour over the lemon juice and olive oil and mix well. Add a final shake of salt and pepper (salt is especially good here), and serve warm or cold!

Leave a Reply

