Roasted Cauliflower Salad

DSC_0263 - Copy

Holy sweet bb. THIS SALAD. Over the holidays, my pops and I found a beautiful head of organic cauliflower (and I knew exactly what to do with it). This recipe was awesomely easy, and the cinnamon and allspice work really well with the earthy cauliflower.

Raw cauliflower makes me toot but the flavour of cauliflower is something I crave from time to time. In the summer, my roommates and I had a picnic and we made a roasted cauliflower salad from Ottolenghi’s cookbook, Jerusalem. It was a hearty salad with lots of celery and a great balance of sweet and smoky and tart flavours. I drew inspiration from that recipe, but we had one tiny 3 inch long piece of celery, so we improvised on the veggie front and made this wonderful one-bowl meal. A nice thing about this dish, is that you could use any raw vegetables. With a basic leafy-green base, and complimentary crunchy veggies, the possibilities are endless. (sometimes infinity isn’t so much scary as it is tantalizing on the taste buds)

I imagine this to be a sturdy enough salad to serve as left overs (or take for lunch the next day!). Next time I make this, I’d probably add frozen peas and maybe some shredded carrot. I’m also a big fan of parsley, so I’d probably increase the amount of parsley I put in too. Let me know what you think!

ROASTED CAULIFLOWER SALAD: (serves 3-4)

  • 1 large head cauliflower, broken up into small florets
  • 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • 3 cups spinach, roughly ripped
  • 1 cup sugar snap peas, chopped
  • 1/2 cup radishes, roughly sliced
  • 1/2 cup flat leaf parsley, roughly ripped up
  • 1/3 cup pomegranate seeds (from half a medium sized pomegranate)
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • nuts or seeds, for garnish (almonds, pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds, hemp hearts, cashews, walnuts – anything)

Method:

Preheat oven to 375F. Mix the cauliflower with the grapeseed oil with 1/2 teaspoon salt and a bit of black pepper. Spread the cauliflower on a baking pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, until it’s golden on top and slightly crispy on the bottom. Transfer to a large mixing bowl and let cool.

Add the remaining ingredients to the bowl, mix well and adjust the salt and pepper to your liking. Serve at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

