A Vegan Christmas Day Dinner

DSC_1093

 

Firstly, forgive me. My christmas break was spent entirely away from my computer. For the first bit, that was by choice. However, some VERY unexpected technical issues cropped up with my computer and I’m now forced to learn Windows 8 (… what is this. How does anything work on this thing?!).

Secondly, my immediate family also eats vegan which explains the vegan christmas dinner (of course we all have “cheats” whether it’s a good cheese or some good chocolate or a good puff pastry. We all abide by the Pleasure Principle: if it feels good, do it. So if we want some dairy we’ll have it.). This year posed a good challenge for the chefs and bakers of my fam, but HOLY MOLY WE SUCCEEDED.

What is on that heavenly plate, you may ask. WELL. At the bottom, the two weird round things, are slices of the Field Roast Hazelnut Cranberry Roast. It comes a frozen, giant log-type thing, and you let it thaw then bake for a few hours. You don’t need to baste it (or whatever), you just bake it. Making it a SUPER simple feast. Being part of a large meal, like this one, it feeds six perfectly.

Moving clockwise from the roast slices, (beyond the little lump of beet horseradish) are steamed peas and broccoli florets with dill and almonds. This was an awesome way to get some green on the plate. All we did was steam a few cups of frozen peas with a large head of broccoli that had been chopped into small florets. We then transferred it into a serving bowl, mixed in 3 tablespoons of fresh dill, 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 2 teaspoon olive oil, 1/4 cup finely chopped almonds and a fat pinch of salt. BAM. Easy greens. (Next time I’d add some lemon zest)

Moving on, we had Mushroom gravy (or something of the like) on fluffy mashed potatoes. The mushroom gravy has shiitake, oyster and cremini mushrooms… IT WAS DELECTABLE. It also had a drizzle of truffle oil that my sister brought back from Italy. The mushroom gravy also had mushroom bullion, a bit of water, a small onion, a few garlic cloves, 1/2 cup fresh parsley, pepper, red wine vinegar, and some chile flakes. The mashed potatoes were awesome because after boiling the potaotes, my pop used So Delicious coconut beverage and some Soy-Free Earth Balance butter spread to cream them up. Along with some salt and pepper, they were heavenly!

Finally, right in the middle, is a cranberry, pomegranate compote my pop made. From what I understood, he simply boiled fresh cranberries in diluted POM pomegranate juice. IT WAS AMAZING ON EVERYTHING. Tart AND sweet.

Sigh. My holiday was fabulous. It was spent goofing around with all of my favorite people. We ate so much amazing food, and drank so much good scotch and beer, and we had SO many painfully joyous laughs. I also saw my puppies, who I already miss. And the cats. I also read some great books and received some other great books.

I look forward to the rest of 2014. But more on New Years soon!

Stay warm and jolly in this odd, dark, and cold first month of the year.

DSC_1090

Leave a Reply

