Holiday Quinoa Salad (with Black Beans, Cucumber, Pomegranate, and Avocado)

DSC_0704

 

A festive salad! (from here) It also happens to be wonderfully hearty. The quinoa and the beans make it super substantial, the cucmber adds crunch, the pomegranate adds sweetness, and the avocado is a smooth surprise (I almost typed “creamy surprise”… just… no).

I loved this salad. It’s made me really excited to go home for the holidays. It’s been a tough semester (to say the least) and the emotions have been high lately as the semester comes to a close. I’m most looking forward to seeing my fam, and my doggies, and fires, and decorating the tree, and trolling around in large amounts of snow, and not having to think about moral goodness, and not having to think about what life means. I just want to plunk down in front of a fire with a giant rum and coke and all the books. And a big plate of cookies.

But before I can do that I have to get through a few more exams and papers and technical evaluations. I can’t believe how fast time is progressing… scary business. Next thing I know I’ll be 65 and probably just as cynical as I am now.

Speaking of books, I’m reading Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep. It’s the sequel to The Shining; has anyone read it? I’m burning through it and it’s awesome. I DIGRESS, on to the salad.

HOLIDAY QUINOA SALAD: serves 4

  • 3/4 cup dried quinoa
  • 1 15oz can of black beans, rinsed
  • 1 cup pomegranate seeds
  • 1 avocado, diced
  • 1 cucumber, diced
  • 3 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1 teaspoon red wine vinegar
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

Rinse the quinoa in a fine sieve under cool water and place in a medium saucepan with 1 1/2 cups water. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and cover. Let cook for 15-20 minutes (until the seed is translucent and the little stringy bit has detached). Remove from heat and let cool completely.

In a medium bowl, combine the rinsed beans, cucumber, pomegranate seeds and avocado with the cooled cooked quinoa. Pour over the olive oil, maple syrup and red wine vinegar and mix well. Season with salt and pepper to taste and serve.

It keeps well in the fridge; the next day it was awesome with a squeeze of lemon!

One thought on “Holiday Quinoa Salad (with Black Beans, Cucumber, Pomegranate, and Avocado)

  1. Pingback: Christmas Salad with Pomegranate Seeds, Avocado, and Pistachios | Titan's Table

Leave a Reply

