Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

Sweet child of mine.

Sweet child of mine.

Okay. Who doesn’t like cinnamon buns loaded with raisins and goo?! I had SO much fun making this loaf. The temperature was perfect in my apartment and so the loaf rose like anarchy in V for Vendetta. The dough was HUMONGOUS. I’m quite positive I annoyed my roommates like there was no tomorrow because I kept on squealing like a pig out of excitement for how beautifully the dough was. Wow. I am so proud of it. And I guess it tasted really good too. However, because it got so huge, it didn’t fit into the loaf pan very well, so I chopped off the ends and baked them in a seperate pan as actual cinnamon buns. Although the buns tasted identical as the loaf, they were WAY too doughy to be good cinnamon buns. The recipe is strictly for a loaf. Funny how the way something is presented changes how good it is…

The recipe is originally from here. I made it vegan by simply substituting milk for almond milk, and butter for Soy-free Earth Balance. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon, and used demerera sugar instead of granulated sugar in the cinnamon swirl part. And instead of an egg in the swirl, I just used some melted Earth Balance.

Oh! One last note… I really loaded it with raisins… because I’m a raisin queen and raisins are my life.

CINNAMON RAISIN SWIRL BREAD: (makes one 9×5 loaf)

1.Dough:

  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast (one envelope worth)
  • 1 cup warm milk alternative
  • 1/3 cup warm water
  • 2 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/4 cup melted Earth Balance (or vegan butter alternative)
  • 1 cup raisins
  • 3 1/2 cups all purpose flour

In a large mixing bowl, sprinkle the yeast over the barely warm milk and water and let sit for 5-10 minutes until it’s activated (it’ll look frothy). Sprinkle in the sugar, and salt. Gently mix in the melted butter and raisins. Gradually, add the flour, mixing until the dough comes together. It’ll be a bit stringy at first. If it doesn’t come together, add water 1 teaspoon at a time until it does (too much water and it’ll get all gummy and poop). If the dough is too wet to begin with, sprinkle in more flour until it comes together (again, small amounts at a time. Too much flour and it’ll get all dense).

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead the dough for 7-10 minutes, until elastic. Grease the inside of a large bowl and place the dough inside. Cover with a tea towel (or plastic wrap) and let rise until doubled. About 1 1/2 to 2 hours.

2. Cinnamon Swirl:

  • 1/3 cup demerera brown sugar, lightly packed
  • 1 heaping tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon earth balance, melted

In a small bowl, combine the sugar and cinnamon and set aside.

Punch down the dough before turning it onto a lightly floured surface. Roll out into a 9×15 inch rectangle and brush the melted Earth balance on top. Evenly sprinkle the sugar-cinnamon mixture on top. Starting with the shortest end, roll up the dough into a cute little log. Transfer the log into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan and press the edges into the corners evenly. Cover with a tea towel and let rise until doubled for another 40-60 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Bake for 40-50 minutes. The top will be golden and sound hollow when tapped. Remove from baking pan and let cool before slicing and serving.

Rising baby

Rising baby

DSC_0461

The loaf lasted (longer than expected!!) really well, and I froze a few pieces that toasted up wonderfully. I’ll definitely make two loaves next time and freeze one. All in all, this was a super good recipe. Simple and delectable. Not to mention it was straightforward, with minimal room for error (on my part anyway). I’m just really proud of how well it turned out! I’ve never made a successful yeasty-bread like this!! AH.

Let me know if it turns out well for you too! Also, I image this would be good with walnuts rolled into the swirl. Or subbing dried cherries for raisins (let’s be real, I’ll probably be seen tripling the amount of raisins next time…).

Enjoy the transition into winter with my father’s great advice: “You gotta laugh more.”. Much love.

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Bread

  1. Pingback: Cinnamon Chip Loaf Recipe | Nosh My Way

  2. Pingback: Cinnamon Roll Bread | Beautiful Disasters

  3. Pingback: Toast for Breakfast? | Ginger Couturier

Leave a Reply

