Black Bean Smoothie

DSC_0166

 

A breakfast of champions! Fruit salad (papaya, strawberries, grapes, and frozen raspberries with hemp hearts and spurilina sprinkled on top), fresh coffee, and a black bean smoothie. Yes, you read that correctly: a black bean smoothie. If you’re anything like me, you’re face is contorted in a… repulsed manner. Let me just say that it’s protein and carbohydrate rich (excellent for long lasting energy), it’s thick and creamy, and you can’t taste the beans. One of my roommates suggested I try this and I’m SO thankful I did. It was such a wonderful breakfast (I also had a couple of pumpkin biscuits). The cinnamon really makes the smoothie so I don’t suggest skimping on it (unless you’re really sensitive to cinnamon).

BLACK BEAN SMOOTHIE (serves 2):

  • 1 1/2 cup cooked Black beans
  • 3 cup almond milk (or any milk alternative)
  • 2 medium frozen bananas
  • 1/2 cup spinach
  • 2 teaspoons agave nectar (or maple syrup or honey)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • sprinkle of goji berries and cacao nibs to garnish

Method:

Throw everything into your blender and blend on high for about 2 minutes ( I had to do the whole two minutes because before that there were still some bean skins floating around…)

 

Leave a Reply

