Super Simple Solo Salad – Cranberry Cashew & Kale

Image

 

Have you ever had one of those days where you’re just sitting in a moment, questioning where the day has gone? You feel simultaneously worthless and full of splendor. As if you’ve accomplished nothing and everything in this day. It’s peculiar that’s for sure… so in this anomaly of a moment I realized I hadn’t eaten since breakfast and set out to make myself a filling salad. Only having to feed myself is a feat. I struggle with the serving size of a recipe and I too often make either one HUMONGOUS meal or two smaller meals… it’s frustrating to say the least. 

However, for the first time I made myself a wonderful little one serving salad that was quick to make and the perfect size. The cool thing about this recipe, some may say that this is common knowledge, is that you can adapt it to whatever you have in the fridge. Seriously, any kind of vegetables will work! It’s just a matter of throwing it together and shoveling it in your face.

I questioned myself in wanting to post this, but I think it gives a good base for salad making. I go by these simple rules:

  • 90% veggies (with a big leafy green base)/10% fruit
  • top with nuts, seeds or grains (dried fruit is common too)
  • make a dressing that has and oil base (olive oil is my go to), an acidic taste (lemon juice or any type of vinegar) and a sweet taste (agave nectar, maple syrup, honey)
  • Finish with a wee bit of salt and pepper

Salads are the best and easy and fun and nourishing. However, I’ll finish my ramble and let you get on to your own salad creations!!

SOLO SALAD – Cranberry Cashew & Kale (serves 1)

  • 1 medium handful baby kale, or spinach (or greenery of choice)
  • 2 radishes, sliced
  • 1 cremini mushroom, chopped
  • 1/4 of a medium zucchini, chopped
  • 1/4 of a pink lady apple
  • 10 parsley leaves
  • 10 cashews, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon dried cranberries
  • salt
  • pepper
  • olive oil
  • balsamic vinegar
  • agave nectar

Method:

Mix the greenery, radished, mushroom, zucchini, apple, and parsley in a small bowl. Top with the dried cranberries, cashews, a pinch of each salt and pepper and a drizzle of the olive oil, balsamic vinegar and agave nectar. 

If you wish, you can mix the salad again to evenly incorporate everything.

 

Leave a Reply

