Delectable Pistachio Granola Bars

DSC_0016

Oh sweet baby!

Firstly, I deeply apologize for being absence! My computer is being a butt and the mouse works periodically and school is in full swing and I injured my back and I’m just FULL of excuses so let’s get on with the food. 

Secondly, I made these positively decadent granola bars. I just… don’t even know where to begin. The tart dried cranberries and lemon zest combines with the coconut and dates is nearly too much to handle. They are comfortably filling, have an awesome flavour AND have healthy ingredients! 

The one thing I found with these bars is that they are kind of… I want to say gooey but that’s not the appropriate word. And neither is soft. They just kind of, ever so slightly fall apart. I’m not sure if I need to make a second “egg” or if I need more oats or more coconut oil or WHAT. Maybe I just should have baked them a wee bit longer. Regardless they are still phenomenal. 

One other comment I have on them is that cutting them into 16 was wise of me (in my personal taste-bud opinion). Simple because eating a whole bar of this was a bit of a flavour overload. Of course GOOD flavours, but the smaller portions made me appreciate them even more. Everything in moderation or something… 

Next time I make these, I’d like to top them with melted dark chocolate and/or cocoa nibs once they have come out of the oven. Speaking of next time, an idea I have for a flavour of granola bar is tahini, banana and cinnamon. Does that sound revolting or intriguing or delicious? I shall find out soon enough.

Recipe inspired from atastylovestory.com

DELECTABLE PISTACHIO GRANOLA BARS (Makes 16 squares or 8 hearty bars)

  • 1 flax “egg” (1 tablespoon ground flax+3 tablespoons water)
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 6 soft Medjool dates
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1/2 cup almonds, chopped
  • 1/2 cup pistachios, chopped (1/4 cup reserved to top)
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/4 cup raisins
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds
  • 1 tablespoon sesame seeds
  • zest of one lemon (preferably an organic lemon!!)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamom
  • 1 vanilla bean, scraped (or 1/4-1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract)
  • pinch of salt

Method:

Preheat the oven to 350F and line a square pan with parchment paper.

Mix the flax egg and let stand for 10 minutes to thicken. Meanwhile, mash the two bananas really well with the coconut oil and dates (if you’re not patient enough plop the bananas, coconut oil and dates into a food processor) and mix in the flax egg. Add the remaining ingredients (except 1/4 cup pistachios) into the wet. Squish the mixture into the prepped spare pan with a spoon or fork and top with the remaining pistachios. Again, squish the pistachios into the granola to ensure they stay in the bars. 

Bake for 20-25 minutes (until they are golden and firm). Once cooled, cut into 8 or 16 pieces. Devour. 

DSC_0032

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

