Zucchini Pasta Salad

DSC_0189The other night was a weird night. So as I do, I turned to the kitchen. I know lots of people say not to eat your emotions, but they never say anything about cooking your emotions (wow that sounds odd). I made a zucchini pasta salad for the next day’s lunch; even though it was a thing where I used up whatever was in the fridge, it turned out to be pretty solid. I used garlic sprouts because that’s all there was in the house, however they added a wonderful zing of flavour.

This salad was inspired by my recent trip to a small book store where I finally found Ottolenghi’s cook book “Plenty”. DROOL. I want to make everything in that book.

Because this recipe was something I whipped up spontaneously, I’m not too sure how I feel about it. Next time I make something like this, I’d like to try making a different dressing/herb paste or add an avocado to the mix. Nonetheless, it was super simple and gave me great energy for the show I had that night!

Zucchini Pasta Salad (serves 4)

  • 2 cups dry pasta (I used fusilli)
  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tiny kale leaf
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp chopped tarragon
  • 2 medium garlic cloves (less if preferred)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1/4 cup hemp seeds
  • 1 tablespoon garlic sprouts (or any kind of sprouts)
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1) cook pasta in salted water until al dente (about 8-10 minutes), drain and rinse under cols water. Place into a large bowl.

2) heat coconut oil in medium saucepan over medium-high heat. Slice the zucchini and fry the slices. It’s best to fry the zucchini in a few batches making sure not to crowd them. Fry for about 3 minutes, or until golden brown on both sides; flipping once only. Once the zucchini is fried, transfer into a large bowl and pour over the apple cider vinegar.

DSC_01763) chop the kale, parsley, tarragon and garlic as teeny as possible . Combine in a small bowl with lemon juice, and slowly add olive oil while mixing vigorously (this would more easily be done in a food processor). Season with salt and a healthy amount of pepper.

4) Pour the zucchini and their juices over the pasta and add the herb paste, frozen peas, lime juice, hemp seeds, garlic sprouts, and chopped green onions. Do a final seasoning with salt and pepper to taste and consume.

DSC_0184

One thought on “Zucchini Pasta Salad

  1. Pingback: Sauteed Zucchini Over Pasta « Brooklyn Locavore

Leave a Reply

